Reading The Family Dinner

I came across Laurie David’s The Family Dinner: Great Ways to Connect with Your Kids One Meal at a Time at my library and fell in love. Not only are there some great recipes in this attractive book, but the philosophy that drives the book will improve the experience of your own family dinners. David’s encouraging and enthusiastic writing will inspire you to be more intentional about putting food on the table.

Apart from the recipes, the book contains rich sections on stocking a pantry, cooking together, encouraging conversation, making green choices, and expressing gratitude. Each topic is covered in a way that provides options you can apply to your personal situation. I scribbled as I read and amassed a notepad full of kitchen tips, recipes, music recommendations, quotations, and resources. I finally realized that this is a book I need to add to my own library.

A few of the recipes have already become favorites, and there are so many more to try! Mac ‘n’ Cheese Please is my family’s favorite macaroni and cheese recipe ever. It tops the orange-from-the-box that my kids prefer, and it is better than the elaborate Martha Stewart version that I slaved over (and it was pretty darn good). Did I mention that it is a quick and easy stovetop recipe? I think we are going to have it tonight.

Other recipes we have enjoyed are Pea Nutty Noodles, Bang Bang Chicken Parmesan, and Chicken Piccata with Crispy Smashed Potatoes. You can visit The Family Dinner website for an ongoing discussion of family dining and a list of recipes. I browsed the recipe index earlier this week and added Chopped Salad and Monina’s Wheat Berry Salad to next week’s meal plan.

This entry was posted in Feeding, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

