Wipe It Down

I have been making baby steps toward removing chemicals from our daily cleaning supplies at home. For years I have used the Red Juice and Blue Juice from The Clean Team. The Clean Team developed safe products that their cleaning staff could use day after day and not worry about harmful side effects. I have found these two products to be very effective for general cleaning, and Red Juice is wonderful for spot treating stains on the carpet. I still plan to keep them in my repertoire, but I added a new member to the cast. I ran out of Red Juice concentrate and looked online for a recipe for a basic household spray cleaner. I found Alice’s Wonder Spray and decided to mix up a batch.

This recipe is in many locations online, but I believe the original credit goes to Karen Logan, in her book Clean House, Clean Planet.

Alice’s Wonder Spray

  • 2 T white vinegar
  • 1t borax
  • 1 1/2 c hot water
  • 1/4 c castile soap
  • 10-15 drops essential oil

Mix vinegar and borax in a spray bottle. Add the hot water and shake gently to dissolve borax. Add castile soap and essential oil last. Shake gently to mix.

I keep several bottles of Alice’s Wonder Spray around the house. I use it mainly in the kitchen and bathrooms for wiping anything and everything. I have experimented with scented castile soaps, so sometimes I leave out the essential oil. I have used several different essential oils—even a Christmas Blend over the holidays. Go easy on the castile soap. If you add too much, the cleaning spray will foam up and leave a residue after you wipe.

This entry was posted in Cleaning, Greening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

