As I have become more aware of some of the chemicals lurking in our health and beauty products, I have tried to steer toward less-harmful options. Toothpaste in particular usually contains sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS), sodium fluoride, and propylene glycol.  I looked at some of the more natural options and was pleased to see that Trader Joe’s toothpaste has a short and comprehensible ingredient list. As we ran out of toothpaste, I gradually replaced the commercial tubes with the Trader Joe’s version. My family grumbled a little bit but made the transition pretty easily.

I have taken synthroid for years and it has resulted in some gum recession. I read that White Oak bark and Slippery Elm could be helpful for gum issues, so I ordered Christopher’s Herbal Tooth and Gum Powder. It takes some getting used to, as it is brownish green powder that is basically bits of ground-up bark. It is a bit dry in the mouth, and there is definitely no foaming, but my mouth feels very clean after I use it. (Maybe it is just the contrast after rinsing the “mud” out of my mouth!) I use the herbal tooth powder once or twice a week.

Then, I came across this recipe on Simple Mom and couldn’t resist giving it a try. I love it! I haven’t converted my family yet, but I am working on it.

Toothpaste

  • 2T coconut oil
  • 3T baking soda
  • ¼ t stevia powder
  • A few drops of peppermint oil or extract

Mix all ingredients until well blended.

I do not include the stevia as a sweetener and I do not miss it. I use about 10 drops of peppermint oil and that gives the toothpaste a minty flavor that isn’t overwhelming. It has the consistency of regular toothpaste. I keep my toothpaste in a small, lidded jar and I use my brush to scoop a little out. As I’m writing this, it occurs to me that it would be more sanitary to use a little scooper to apply it to the brush! Maybe I will do that if it seems as though anyone at my house wants to share my toothpaste.

It is my opinion that in the 6 months that I have been making my own toothpaste, my breath is fresh, my teeth are a bit whiter, and my gums rarely bleed when I floss.

 Here is the link to the complete article on Simple Mom:

http://simplemom.net/natural-beauty-clean-skin-teeth-and-lips/

Link | This entry was posted in Greening, Health and Beauty. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

